Beginning July 1, 2009, all people saltwater fishing for fun in South Carolina will be required to have a fishing license.
This new legislation specifically affects those people who have fished from the shore (beach, bank, private dock, free public pier, etc.) and harvested shrimp and/or crab without a license in the past.
Saltwater Recreational Fishing License fees are as follows:
- Annual Resident - $10
- 14-day Resident - $5
- Annual Non-Resident - $35
- 14-day Non-Resident - $11
If you are casual crabbers like my family, you will not need a license when fishing, crabbing, shrimping with three or fewer drop nets or fold-up traps; or when crabbing with three or fewer hand lines with a single bait and no hooks (chicken necking).
For more information, visit the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources website. You can read more about the new law at Charleston's Post and Courier online newspaper.
To purchase a saltwater fishing license online, visit SCDNR. A license can be purchased at most sporting goods stores throughout South Carolina.
If you are visiting Kiawah or Seabrook Island, Seacoast Sports located in Freshfields Village is the closest fishing license seller.